What are the SDGs?

Global challenges require global solutions. The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), were designed to tackle some of the biggest challenges facing the world today including:

  • Poverty
  • Inequality
  • Access to quality food and healthcare
  • Opportunities and access to decent work
  • Climate change
  • Conflict, corruption and lack of policy & enforcement

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), also known as the Global Goals, came into effect on January 1, 2016 following the historic United Nations Summit in September 2015 where the Sustainable Development Goals were officially adopted as a part of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. The 2030 Agenda set out a 15-year plan to achieve the Goals. All 193 United Nations member states agreed to implement the Goals in their own countries. 

There are 17 Global Goals, 169 targets, and 231 unique indicators to measure progress.

Image listing 17 Sustainable Development Goals.

The UN’s central promise of the SDGs is to Leave No One Behind in the progress toward a just, prosperous and peaceful world. 

MCIC’s SDG Resources

If you’re an educator:

  • Check out MCIC’s guide to teaching the SDGs, Sustainable Foundations
  • Check out our grades 5-12 workshops that take a deep dive into the principles of specific SDGs
  • Check out SDGs @ Home to access grades 5-12 lesson plans for all of the SDGs, designed for online learning

If you’re a post-secondary instructor: 

If you’re looking for workplace resources (any industry):